SharePoint 2010 installation on Windows 7


From a SharePoint development environment setup perspective, one of the best things that SharePoint 2010 has to offer is the ability to install on Windows 7. Till now I have used a Windows Server 2003 server on my Dell Vostro laptop (I dont have enough patience wait for a VPC to start up 🙂 ) and there are a few drivers that are unsupported / unavailable.Now with this release I can finally get a supported OS on my laptop and also install the software I use a lot.

If you thought that installing SharePoint 2010 on Windows 7 was going to be a breeze, you are in for a shock like I did one morning where I sat down and started doing just that. There is an article in MSDN that explains how to do it.. scripts to be run, config files to be modified the whole works. No next, next, finish for this.

BTW make sure the SQL Server version you are running is atleast  2005 SP3 CU3 (9.00.4220.00) or 2008 SP1 CU2 (10.00.2714.00) which you can download from the MSDN support site.

1.00.2714.00
Leave a Reply

