SharePoint 2010 – First Look and Top Features


Its been quite a while since the last post and I thought I would revive this blog with posts on SharePoint 2010 which is currently out there in CTP. There are quite a few SharePoint 2010 top features out there on the net, but I thought I would publish my version as well.  My preference would be based on the requirements I have seen people have when they start considering a tool like SharePoint as well as some of the experiences I had with SharePoint 2007 when I said “if only this was there”.  As usual there is a lot of hype and I will present what I feel will persist after the hype and fireworks has subsided and people actually start implementing SharePoint 2010.

So here it is in no particular order. Please note that these are based on initial look and I may have not actually tried out these features

  • Granular Backup / Restore  – Previously the lowest level at which a site could be backed up using SharePoint’s native tools was at the site collection level. This version enables it at the List level! That is pretty impressive; I doubt if people will require list level back ups but subsite level backups will definitely be useful.
  • Browse through of content from an unattached database – Way to go MS. Previously I would imagine the pain an administrator would have to go to in case he needed to check something from a previous backup; there would have to be a site setup and fully restored just for that. Now it is possible to point SharePoint Central admin to a database from another SharePoint installation and say browse its contents.
  • Service accounts management from one location – in the SharePoint 2007 world, incase a change was required to all service accounts, or it was necessary to carry out an audit of the service accounts, an administrator would have to go all around the place. Now it is all neatly placed together where someone can select the type of account and check the service account it runs under
  • Tagging – The new tagging feature enables one to create tags to pages and organize them. Why I feel this to be very useful is when I see our company intranet site, there are quite a lot of pages I visit often I would like to have a book mark to, instead of going through the navigation each time. One could argue that the IE bookmarks could be leveraged for this, however its more intuitive on the web page itself, also the tags can be made public so that other people can see the tags I have created; I can imaging telling someone who is looking for a page – “check my SharePoint tag; its listed there”
  • Dynamic Content Query Web Parts – One of the most reasons for creating a custom CQWP by inheriting the default was since there was no dynamic behaviour supported. Now we can take some parameters such as the query string to determine the filter condition. Do more with less code!
  • Document Sets –  One feature that I found asked frequently by customers, the ability to tag multiple documents to the same meta data or route then through the same workflow; it’s all here now
  • Folders in page libraries – Whew
  • Wiki page – No more having to creating multiple page layouts with zones for ad hoc requests, now the wiki allows adding webparts to any where in its body; basically you can insert web parts between content
  • Merged calendars – true enterprise need to view a global calender by merging different calendars together
  • Workflows – whats so cool about this now is the ability to create a workflow in visio, export it to SharePoint designer and take it to VS.net as well. Finally a workflow created by a business user can be made reusable and not just kept tightly bound to a list
One comment

  1. […] on customer needs that I have come across. I had a similar post when SharePoint 2010 was launched https://jacksonc.wordpress.com/2009/11/14/sharepoint-2010/ and the principles for feature list is the same – removing the hype and just getting into the […]

Leave a Reply

